Juvenile Can Be Sex Offenders
In California, a minor (someone under the age of 18) can be registered as a Sex Offender if they are convicted of certain sex offenses. Sex offenses in California that may require registration include:
- Statutory Rape
- Child Pornography
- Sexual Exploitation, Trafficking
- Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Child
California Law States:
“Any person who… is discharged or paroled from the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation to the custody of which he or she was committed after having been adjudicated a ward of the juvenile court… because of the commission or attempted commission of any offense described in subdivision (c) shall register in accordance with the Act” ~ California Penal Code 290.008
Can Juveniles be Registered as Sex Offenders in California?
Yes they can.
However, if probation is granted, sex offender registration DOES NOT apply.
What is the California Sex Offender Registry?
The California Sex Offender Registry (CSOR) is a database of individuals who have been convicted of certain sex offenses in California. The CSOR is maintained by the California Department of Justice. It is available to the public for the purpose of providing information about sex offenders in California. The CSOR contains personal information about the offender, including their name, address, photograph, physical description, and the crime for which they were convicted.
What is the California Law on Registering Juveniles as Sex Offenders?
In California, juveniles may be required to register as sex offenders if they have been convicted of certain offenses. Juvenile offenders may also be required to register if they have been adjudicated for certain offenses and have been found to have committed the offense beyond a reasonable doubt. The age of the offender, the severity of the offense, and the facts of the case are taken into consideration when determining whether or not the juvenile should be required to register.
Under California law, there are certain circumstances in which juveniles may be required to register as sex offenders. These include juvenile offenders who are at least 14 years old and have been convicted of a felony sex offense, such as rape or sodomy, or a misdemeanor sex offense, such as lewd and lascivious acts with a minor. In addition, juveniles who are convicted of certain offenses, such as continuous sexual abuse of a child, may also be required to register as a sex offender.
What is the Percentage of Sexual Abuse Committed by Juveniles?
According to the Child Molestation Research and Prevention Institute, juveniles are responsible for approximately 10 to 15 percent of all reported sexual offenses in the United States. Research has also shown that the majority of juvenile sexual offenders are male, and that most juvenile sexual offenses are committed against female victims.
Who is Eligible for California Juvenile Sex Offender Registration?
In California, any juvenile who is at least 14 years old and has been convicted of a felony sex offense, such as rape or sodomy, or a misdemeanor sex offense, such as lewd and lascivious acts with a minor, is eligible for registration as a sex offender. In addition, juveniles who are convicted of certain offenses, such as continuous sexual abuse of a child, may also be required to register as sex offenders.
Consequences of Registering as a Juvenile Sex Offender in California
Registering as a juvenile sex offender in California can have serious consequences. Juveniles who are required to register as sex offenders may face a variety of restrictions and requirements, including restrictions on where they can live, work, or travel, and requirements to regularly report to law enforcement. In addition, juveniles who are required to register as sex offenders may be subject to public shaming, discrimination, and ostracism.
Does Juvenile Sex Offender Registration in California Have a Positive Impact?
In some cases, registering as a juvenile sex offender in California may have a positive impact on the offender’s life. For example, registering as a sex offender can help to ensure that the offender receives proper treatment and rehabilitation for their offense, thus reducing the risk of re-offending. In addition, registering as a sex offender may also help to deter potential victims from coming into contact with the offender.
Recent Changes to California’s Juvenile Sex Offender Registration Laws
In recent years, California has made several changes to the state’s juvenile sex offender registration laws. In 2016, the state passed a law that allows juvenile offenders to petition the court to be removed from the CSOR after a certain period of time has passed. This law is intended to give juvenile offenders a second chance and to reduce the stigma associated with sex offender registration. In addition, California recently passed a law that allows juvenile offenders to petition the court to have their records sealed if they have not committed any new offenses.
In California, the laws regarding juvenile sex offenders are complex and often confusing. While juveniles may be required to register as sex offenders in some cases, recent changes to the state’s laws have made it possible for juvenile offenders to petition the court for removal from the CSOR or to have their records sealed. Ultimately, it is important to remember that registering as a juvenile sex offender can have serious consequences, and it is important to seek the advice of a qualified legal professional if you or someone you know is facing registration as a juvenile sex offender in California.
- Related Articles:
- Can You Terminate Your Sex Offender Status as a Juvenile?
- Long-Term Costs of a Juvenile Criminal Conviction
- How to Proactively Support Your Juvenile or Teenager if They Are Arrested
Need a Lawyer?
Contact us today for a free consultation with a Criminal Law specialist about the integrity of your digital information.
Need an Attorney? CALL NOW: 310-274-6529
Seppi Esfandi is an Expert Attorney who has over 21 years of practice defending a variety of cases.