California Penal Code 261.5 PC
PC 261.5 – Statutory Rape
Statutory Rape – Table of Contents
What is Statutory Rape, Penal Code 261.5 PC?
CA Penal Code 261.5 Statutory Rape is a growing problem in California and is one of the most occurring sex crimes in the state.
Here’s how the state of California defines the crime:
“(a) Unlawful sexual intercourse is an act of sexual intercourse accomplished with a person who is not the spouse of the perpetrator if the person is a minor. For the purposes of this section, a “minor” is a person under the age of 18 years and an “adult” is a person who is at least 18 years of age.
(b) Any person who engages in an act of unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor who is not more than three years older or three years younger than the perpetrator, is guilty of a misdemeanor.
(c) Any person who engages in an act of unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor who is more than three years younger than the perpetrator is guilty of either a misdemeanor or a felony, and shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year, or by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170.
(d) Any person 21 years of age or older who engages in an act of unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor who is under 16 years of age is guilty of either a misdemeanor or a felony, and shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year, or by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 for two, three, or four years.”
In order to be convicted of Statutory Rape Penal Code 261.5 PC, the prosecutor must prove the elements of the crime:
- That you had sexual intercourse with another person (the amount of penetration is not important)
- That you were not married to the victim at the time of the intercourse
- That the victim was under 18 at the time of the offense
If the prosecutor can prove these three elements beyond a reasonable doubt, you will be convicted of Penal Code 261.5 Statutory Rape — a crime that’s known as a “wobbler” in California. This means that that the crime can be charged as either a felony or a misdemeanor.
The three factors determining how the crime will be charged are:
- If you are no more than three years older than the victim, you will always be charged with a misdemeanor.
- If you are more than three years older than the victim, you will be charged with a felony or a misdemeanor.
- If you were 21 years old or older and the victim was under 16 years old at the time of the offense, then you can be charged with either a felony or a misdemeanor, but the penalties are harsher.
If you are convicted of Statutory Rape Penal Code 261.5 PC as a misdemeanor, then you’ll face:
- Informal probation
- Up to one year in county jail
- Up to $1,000 in fines
If you are convicted of Statutory Rape Penal Code 261.5 PC as a felony, then you’ll face:
- Formal probation
- Up to one year in county jail
- Up to 3 years in prison, if you were under 21 years old and the victim was older than 16 years old
- Up to 4 years in prison, if you were over 21 years old and the victim was younger than 16 years old
- Up to $10,000 in fines
In addition to the criminal punishments mentioned above, there are civil penalties that you could face, but only if you are 18 years old or older. These civil penalties are dependent on your age and the age of the victim, as stated by California law:
- A $2,000 fine if the victim is less than two years younger than you
- A $5,000 fine if the victim is at least two years younger than you
- A $10,000 fine if the victim is at least three years younger than you
- A $25,000 fine if the victim is younger than 16 and you are older than 21
Prosecuting – CA Penal Code 261.5
As previously stated, in order to be convicted of PC 261.5 Statutory Rape, the prosecutor has to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that:
- You had sexual intercourse with another person (the amount of penetration is not important)
- You were not married to the victim at the time of the intercourse
- The victim was under 18 at the time of the offense
If the prosecutor cannot prove at least these three elements of the crime, you will not be convicted of PC 261.5 Statutory Rape.
The prosecutor does not need to prove that force, fear, or fraud took place in order for a PC 261.5 Statutory Rape conviction. Similarly, the prosecutor also doesn’t need to prove that the victim did not consent to the sexual intercourse.
All the prosecutor is required to prove is that there was an age difference between you and the victim and that sexual intercourse occurred.
The third element of the crime is that the victim was under 18 at the time of the offense. The state recognizes a person as being 18 one minute after midnight. For instance, if your birthday is on February 21st, then you are officially one year older one minute after midnight on February 21st.
Can a minor be charged with PC 261.5 — Statutory Rape?
Yes. Although this may seem like a double standard because both the defendant and the victim are minors, it can and does happen.
Defending – CA Penal Code 261.5 PC
Statutory Rape is a terrible crime, and those guilty of the crime deserve to be punished to the fullest extent of the law. But, if you honestly believed that the victim was over 18, and they made you believe that they were older than 18, or if both the defendant and the victim are close in age, there are viable defenses a criminal defense attorney can help you seek out.
Mistake of Fact
A skilled defense attorney will look at several different approaches to prove your innocence. As briefly touched upon, the first one is that you truthfully and reasonably believed that the victim was over 18. This defense is commonly known as a mistake of fact defense and is a viable defense for statutory rape PC 261.5 Statutory Rape cases.
Evidence that might support the mistake of fact defense is:
- Where you met the victim (if, for instance, you met the victim at a bar and he/she was using a fake ID, then you could reasonably and honestly believe that the person was over 18)
- What he/she looked like (if the victim was dressed provocatively and was trying to look older than he/she actually was then you might reasonably believe that the person was over 18)
- What the victim said (if the victim explicitly said that he/she was over 18 then you could absolutely reasonably believe that he/she was over 18)
Your Los Angeles Criminal Defense Attorney will ask you to describe the events leading up to the offense, in detail, to see if any of these options mentioned above are viable defenses.
Because of the nature of the crime, it is not uncommon for people to be the victim of false accusations. Like a lot of sex crimes, the charges can be filed out of jealousy, hate and revenge. Statutory Rape Penal Code 261.5 PC charges can also be filed by angry parents who don’t like their child’s boyfriend/girlfriend and make up the claim to get that person in trouble.
Consent is Not a Valid Defense
In California, consent is not a valid defense for a statutory rape Penal Code 261.5 PC charge. Even if the victim consented to having sexual intercourse with you but there was an age gap, you can still be charged with CA Penal Code 261.5.
The only positive element of a statutory rape Penal Code 261.5 PC conviction is that you don’t have to register as a sex offender in accordance to CA Penal Code 290.
Call Us for a FREE Case Review: 310-274-6529
How to Win Your Case
We cannot stress enough that you read, understand and follow these 10 basic rules if you are criminally charged or under investigation:
- Don’t ever talk to the police
- Do not discuss your case with anyone
- Everything you tell your lawyer is confidential
- Tell police you need to contact your attorney
- Never consent to any search by the police
- If the police knock on your door, don't answer!
- Realize the consequences of a criminal conviction
- Your lawyer (not you) will contact any witnesses
- Information on your cell phone is evidence
- Early Intervention is the key