California Vehicle Code 23152 VC
VC 23152 – Out-of-State DUI – Los Angeles
Out-of-State DUI – Table of Contents
If you have recently been arrested for a DUI Out-of-State DUI California Vehicle Code VC 23152, and you’re not a California resident, or have an out-of-state driver’s license, there are several steps that you must take to ensure minimal impact on your driving privileges and criminal record. The two most important steps are:
- Schedule a DMV Hearing, in California, within 10 days of your arrest
- Hire a skilled criminal defense attorney
An out-of-state DUI California Vehicle Code VC 23152 includes those on vacation in California and anyone who recently moved to California who has yet to register in the state.
It’s important to note that if you’ve recently moved to California you have 30 days to go to the DMV and get a California driver’s license. If you are pulled over and the officer can prove that you’ve been a resident for more than 30 days you can be cited for Driving Without a License, California Vehicle Code 12500(a), a misdemeanor.
Once you’ve been arrested for a DUI the arresting officer will:
- If you’re a CA resident, confiscate your CA driver’s license and give you a temporary driver’s license. The temporary license will expire in 30 days, which will begin your drivers license suspension.
- If you’re not a CA and you are an Out-of-State DUI resident, give you a notification stating that your driving privileges in CA will be suspended in 30 days.
From this point you have 10 days to schedule a DMV Hearing. In short, the DMV Hearing pertains to if, or, for how long your driving privileges will be suspended or revoked. For a full understanding read the DMV DUI hearing article.
If you’re an out-of-state DUI driver who was recently arrested for a DUI it’s important to hire a criminal defense attorney who can attend the DMV Hearing on your behalf as well as fight your Out-of-State DUI California Vehicle Code 23152 VC case in court. This will save you time and money from having to travel back to California.
If your DMV Hearing is not successful and you lose your driving privileges in California then your home state will be notified and your driving privileges will be affected there too. This is due to The Interstate Drivers License Compact (DLC), a group of states that share the concept of a single driver having a single driving record, regardless of state boundaries. The only states that don’t participate in the DLC are Georgia, Massachusetts, Michigan, Tennessee, and Wisconsin. The DLC will be replaced by the even harsher, Driver License Agreement (DLA) soon.
Following your DMV Hearing, your Out-of-State DUI case will go to court. Depending on the facts of the Out-of-State DUI case and your criminal record, the judge may or may not require your attendance. If you are required to appear in court you must come back to California. However, if the judge does not require your attendance then your criminal defense attorney can represent you on your behalf. From this point forward your criminal defense attorney will approach your Out-of-State DUI case as he or she would approach any other DUI case. For an in-depth understanding of what your criminal defense attorney will do, read the Field Sobriety Test article.
If you or a loved one is being charged with violating Out-of-State DUI California Vehicle Code VC 23152, or any other California DUI laws, we invite you to contact us immediately for a free case review. Schedule an appointment to meet with us in person, or feel free to submit an evaluation online and we will get in contact with you ASAP. We can provide a free consultation in our office, or by phone. Our experienced and assiduous Los Angeles Criminal Defense Lawyers will be sure to fight until the end to reduce or drop your charges completely.
Call Us for a FREE Case Review: 310-274-6529
How to Win Your Case
We cannot stress enough that you read, understand and follow these 10 basic rules if you are criminally charged or under investigation:
- Don’t ever talk to the police
- Do not discuss your case with anyone
- Everything you tell your lawyer is confidential
- Tell police you need to contact your attorney
- Never consent to any search by the police
- If the police knock on your door, don't answer!
- Realize the consequences of a criminal conviction
- Your lawyer (not you) will contact any witnesses
- Information on your cell phone is evidence
- Early Intervention is the key